• health and social

Health & Social Care

 ‘A good head and good heart are always a formidable combination.’ - Nelson Mandela

All professions in health and social care require both intelligence and a great deal of compassion and kindness.  It is the combination of these attributes that ensures that health and social care practitioners are able to meet the needs of those for whom they provide care.

Studying Health and Social Care will enable students to develop their understanding of care principles that underpin care across health, social care and educational sectors.  Students will also learn about the importance of holistic care and development for babies, children and young people, elderly, vulnerable patients and service users.

Pupils are supported throughout their academic study of Health and Social Care and also through practical work experience.  In Year 10, pupils carry out 2 weeks of work experience in a care setting as an integral part of their course.  This work experience helps with their application of health and social care. 

BTEC Health and Social Care (KS4) - this Award gives learners the opportunity to develop sector-specific knowledge and skills in a practical learning environment. 

The main focus is on four areas of equal importance, which cover the: 

  • development of key skills that prove aptitude in health and social care such as interpreting data to assess an individual’s health 
  • process that underpins effective ways of working in health and social care, such as designing a plan to improve an individual’s health and wellbeing 
  • attitudes that are considered most important in health and social care, including the care values that are vitally important in the sector, and the opportunity to practise applying them 
  • knowledge that underpins effective use of skills, process and attitudes in the sector such as human growth and development, health and social care services, and factors affecting people’s health and wellbeing.

There are 3 Components which make up the qualification. Students are required to complete and achieve all three components to attain the qualification. 

  • Component 1: Human Lifespan Development (Assignment)
  • Component 2: Health and Social Care Services and Values (Assignment)
  • Component 3: Health and Wellbeing (2 hour Exam)

The three components focus on the assessment of knowledge, skills and practices. These are all essential to developing a basis for progression and, therefore, learners need to achieve all components in order to achieve the qualification. The Award can be attained as either a level 1 or a Level 2 qualification, giving a wide range of options for students to attain at an achievable grade. 

BTEC Health and Social Care (KS5) - BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care is equivalent in size to one A Level.  It is made up of 4 units of which 3 are mandatory and 1 is optional; 2 are external exams and 2 are assignments. The units cover a broad basis of study for the health and social care sector. This qualification is designed to support progression to higher education when taken as part of a programme of study that includes other appropriate BTEC Nationals or A Levels.

The content of the qualification incorporates topics relevant across the health and social care sector: 

•           Human Lifespan Development (Exam)  

•           Working in Health and Social Care (Exam)

•           Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs (Coursework)

•           Physiological Disorders and their Care (Coursework)

This qualification is generally taken alongside other qualifications as part of a 2–year programme of learning.  This will enable learners to progress to a degree programme chosen from a range of programmes, including ones in the health and social care sector e.g. Nursing, Primary School Teaching, Social Work etc.

Please see the Health & Social Care curriculum overviews for each Key Stage below.

Ms R. Jeynes Head of Health and Social Care